OLD OAKEN BUCKET

STADIUMS

Stuart Field

From 1889 to 1891 Purdue played home games at the Lafayette YMCA park. Purdue enjoyed a 5 and 0 record at that location. Starting in 1892 Purdue played home games on campus at Stuart field. Stuart Field was located to the east of the Armory and is now the site of Elliot Hall of Music. Stuart Field was not only home to Purdue Athletics but also early "aeroplane demonstrations". Stuart Field remained in continuous use from 1892 through 1924. The Overall record at Stuart field was 88 wins, 44 loses and 12 tie games. Stuart Field, Indiana vs. Purdue.

Ross-Ade Stadium under construction

Ross-Ade Stadium was dedicated in 1924 with the Purdue-IU Bucket game and Purdue won the game 26 to 7. The stadium location (the Tilt farm) was chosen because there was a natural valley that lent itself to the stadium construction. The original seating was 13,500. In 1930, 5,000 seats were added. A permanent grandstand was added in 1949 which raised the seating capacity to 51,295. In 1950, a new press box was built on the west side of the field. Permanent bleachers were added in 1955 to expand the seating to 55,500. In 1963, the field was lowered to add 13 additional rows of seating. Prior to the 1969 season permanent stands were completed in the north end zone, bringing the capacity to 62,500, the largest capacity of any university stadium in Indiana and second only to the Lucas Oil Stadium. Recent additions are a new press box, 34 luxury suites, and 200 club seats. Today one grandstand in a horseshoe shape encloses the field. Additional bleachers are located at the south end of the field. Ross-Ade is unique in that it has always had a natural grass field. Prescription Athletic Turf (PAT) is a unique system that can keep the field playable and divot free even during a storm dumping one inch of rain per hour. Ross-Ade is a unique blend of classic architecture and modern amenities. The stadium has a coffee shop and a Purdue memorabilia store. Many more images of Ross-Ade Stadium are available on e-Archives.

Ross-Ade Stadium

Jordan Field (1897) The first football game was played on Oct. 2, 1897 against Rose Polytechnic (6-6 tie). The last official football game played on this field was on Nov. 24, 1923 against Purdue (IU won 3 - 0). A marker identifying the location of Jordan Field was dedicated on Oct. 11, 1980 (north side of Indiana Memorial Union parking lot).

Photograph of Indiana Field

Indiana Field - It was located between the southern side of the western end of the 10th St. Memorial Stadium and 7th St. Indiana Field, and basically straddled much of what is now the Ora L. Wildermuth Intramural Center’s fieldhouse. Indiana Field’s northeastern corner was basically catty-corner to the south-western corner of the 10th St. Memorial Stadium. This field was used (for intercollegiate football game purposes) only during the 1924 football season, due to the reconstruction that had to be completed on the 10th St. Memorial Stadium, and only three games were played here of which I.U. won all three (Sep. 30, IU 65 – Rose Polytechnic 0; Oct. 4, IU 21 – DePauw 0; Nov. 15, IU 21 – Wabash 7). At present (2008) the only known photograph that identifies this field and its location can be seen in the 1925 Arbutus, p. 151.

Photograph of the Memorial Stadium

Memorial Stadium (10th St.) was finished in 1925 and dedicated on Nov. 21, 1925 during the Purdue game (result was a 0-0 tie). The Purdue game of that year was the first Old Oaken Bucket game, and the last football game of that season. The first football game played here was on Oct. 3, 1925 against Indiana State Normal (IU won 31-0). Football was played here from the Fall of 1925 through the Fall of 1959 (Football moved to the new Memorial Stadium on 17th St. in the Fall of 1960.) The first Little 500 was held here on May 12, 195, and the last was held on Apr. 26, 1980. The Stadium was renamed the 10th Street Stadium in 1971, and it was razed in late summer or fall of 1982.

New Indiana Memorial Stadium

17th Street Football Stadium was finished in 1960, and was dedicated on Oct. 22, 1960 during the Michigan State game (IU lost 35-0). The first game at this Stadium was played on Oct. 8 against Oregon St. (IU lost 20-6). The Stadium was renamed Indiana Memorial Stadium in 1971. Artificial turf was put down in 1970, and grass was brought back in time for the 1998 football season. In 2003 the grass surface was replaced with "AstroPlay" artificial turf. In 2006 the IU Trustees approved an estimated $55 million athletic facility enhancement plan. The plan included enclosing the north end zone of Memorial Stadium to add more seating and a facility that would accommodate coaches’ and administrators’ offices, meeting areas, a new strength development complex, and a Hall of Honor to highlight the achievements of IU athletes.